What’s On: Big Time Rush

Big Time Rush Starring Kendall Schmidt, James Maslow, Carlos Pena, Logan Henderson, Ciara Bravo, Stephen Kramer Gilckman, and Tanya Chisholm

Nickelodeon, Fridays at 8:30/7:30c

Synopsis: Four best friends from Minnesota suddenly find themselves transported to LA to become the next big pop group, but fame is definitely not what it seems. Kendall, James, Carlos, and Logan have definitely traded up from math tests and hockey, but hair and makeup coupled with an eccentric producer makes life much crazier. The boys struggle with their efforts to balance show biz with real life, but is it too much or really a dream come true?

I’ll be honest: I don’t know what about this show appeals to me – the boys, the humor, or the story – but I can’t seem to stop watching. Maybe it reminds me of the boy bands I grew up with – N*Sync and the Backstreet Boys (wow, I’m totally dating myself) – or maybe it reminds me of that desire we all have to be famous. Either way, I like it. Granted, not everyone likes it, nor do they particularly care for the band, but Big Time Rush has managed to make its mark in the music world and in television. Each boy has their own personality and sense of humor, but what I like the most is the way they play off of each other’s strengths and weaknesses. The four boys are also quick to support each other and stand up for each other no matter what crazy schemes they seem to get themselves into. Fame may not be everything, but the friendship of Kendall, James, Carlos, and Logan is something definitely worth watching.

Leave a comment

Filed under Media: Music, Media: Television

Leave a Reply

