Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident Review

artemis_fowl_2Artemis Fowl: The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Book 2) by Eoin Colfer

Deckle Edge, 2002. 978-0786808557

Synopsis: Artemis is at boarding school in Ireland when he suddenly receives an urgent video e-mail from Russia. In it is a plea from his father, who has been kidnapped by the Russian Mafiya. As Artemis rushes to his rescue, he is stopped by Captain Holly Short of the LEPrecon fairy police. But this time, instead of battling the fairies, he is going to have to join forces with them if he wants to save one of the few people in the world he loves. – from

Why I picked it up: I appear to be in an anti-hero sort of mood.

Why I finished it: Artemis has had to become a little bit more underhanded with his scheming now that he is under supervision and away from Fowl Manor, and the reader will notice that he’s developed a somewhat more humanistic side that doesn’t seem terribly like him. It’s sort of unnerving to see him with the more traditional hero tendencies, but thankfully, he doesn’t tend to dwell on them for very long. The reader is introduced (briefly) to Artemis Senior and the fairy Opal Koibi (remember her – she’ll be important later), who join our cast of unlikely acquaintances. Let’s not go so far as to call the group friendly, but by the end of the book, we do see some elements of respect developing. This book starts off a little slower than its predecessor, but after the first chapter things heat up quickly and the rest of the plot is comparatively fast-paced. Between orchestrating a rescue operation and squashing a rebellion, our crew certainly has their hands full, but Colfer manages to keep both stories from getting too jumbled. The reader is kept on the edge of their seat up until the final pages, when a new ‘problem’ seems to emerge and set the stage for Artemis’s next venture. It’s sure to thrill fans of the first book and engage readers who are new to the series.

Other related materials: Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Book 1) by Eoin Colfer; The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl, Book 3) by Eoin Colfer; The Opal Deception (Artemis Fowl, Book 4) by Eoin Colfer; The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl, Book 5) by Eoin Colfer; The Time Paradox (Artemis Fowl, Book 6) by Eoin Colfer; The Atlantis Complex (Artemis Fowl, Book 7) by Eoin Colfer; The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl, Book 8) by Eoin Colfer; Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel adapted by Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin, art by Giovanni Rigano, colors by Paolo Lamanna; Artemis Fowl: The Seventh Dwarf by Eoin Colfer; W.A.R.P. books by Eoin Colfer; The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer; The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud; H.I.V.E. series by Mark Walden; Inkheart by Cornelia Funke; Inkspell by Cornelia Funke; Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke


Leave a comment

Filed under reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s