Bone, Volume 4: The Dragonslayer Review

Bone_4Bone, Volume 4: The Dragonslayer by Jeff Smith

Graphix, 2006. 978-0439706377

Synopsis: Fone Bone confronts a host of dangers in Book 4 of the BONE saga, The Dragonslayer. He and Gran’ma Ben and Thorn have a terrifying encounter with Kingdok, ruler of the rat creatures. The Hooded One is inciting his army to full-scale war. Someone is continuing to haunt Thorn in her dreams. And then wise Gran’ma Ben disappears. To make matters worse, Phoney Bone has hoodwinked the townspeople into believing that he is a mighty dragonslayer. When he actually does catch the Red Dragon — much to his surprise — he must face up to his promise: to slay the dragon at sunrise. – from

Why I picked it up: Lots of questions need answers.

Why I finished it: This volume focuses quite a bit on developing Thorn and delving a little bit more into why she is so important to the still fuzzy plan of the rat creatures, the hooded figure, and they Lord of the Locusts. The explanation behind why the hooded figure is able to appear in Thorn’s dreams becomes more clear, but with the awakening of her powers, it still feels like there is a way to go before more pieces of the puzzle click into place. While Thorn and Fone Bone struggle with accepting her true heritage, Phoney is whipping the townspeople into a frenzy based on an untrue notion – but at this point, do we really expect anything less? Smiley Bone continues to be a relatively flat secondary character, which leads me to wonder if we are ever going to know more about the third member of the Bone trio. There also seem to be some inconsequential plot points Smith is setting up for future volumes, namely the hooded Stick-Eaters whose appearance is putting everyone on edge. The pacing, as with the other volumes, is well-executed and keeps the reader turning the pages as questions are answered and others are being asked. It’s an action packed installment that is guaranteed to leave you wanting more.

Other related materials: Bone, Volume 1: Out from Boneville by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 2: The Great Cow Race by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 3: Eyes of the Storm by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 5: Rock Jaw, Master of the Eastern Border by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 6: Old Man’s Cave by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 7: Ghost Circles by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 8: Treasure Hunters by Jeff Smith; Bone, Volume 9: Crown of Horns by Jeff Smith; Bone, Prequel: Rose by Jeff Smith; Bone: Tall Tales by Jeff Smith and Tom Sniegoski; Bone: Quest for the Spark Books 1 & 2 by Jeff Smith and Tom Sniegoski; Zita the Spacegirl series by Ben Hatke; The Amulet series by Kazu Kibuishi; Knights of the Lunch Table books by Frank Cammuso; Cleopatra in Space series by Mike Maihack; Nnewts books by Doug TenNapel; Ghostopolis by Doug TenNapel


Leave a comment

Filed under reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out / Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out / Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out / Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out / Change )

Connecting to %s