Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception Review

artemis_fowl_4Artemis Fowl: The Opal Deception (Artemis Fowl, Book 4) by Eoin Colfer

Disney-Hyperion, 2009. 978-1423124559

Synopsis: Artemis Fowl is a teenage criminal mastermind that lives for the thrill of a heist, so much so that his latest mission to recover an oft-stolen art world treasure could be his greatest theft yet. But he also has memories floating just at the back of his mind that he can’t seem to place as his own; memories that have made him a target for revenge. And he’s going to have to remember if he wants to survive.

Why I picked it up: We know Artemis retained his memories from the mind wipe in the previous book, so I was curious to know how he engineered retrieving them.

Why I finished it: The notion that Artemis is struggling with two different parts of himself isn’t something that has been particularly prevalent in the first three books of the series. It’s not something we’re used to seeing in our favorite boy genius, but it’s also a reflection of the fact that Artemis (like the reader) is growing up. His life has changed drastically since the first book, and he still has to make a tough decision about whether to embrace the normal or continue to indulge his criminal enterprises. Most of us didn’t deal with those exact circumstances, but we do/did struggle with figuring out who we are and how we want to live our lives. Holly seems to be struggling in the same way: there’s a promotion waiting for her if she would take it, but it means that she gives up some of the thrill of being a field operative in favor of serving her people in a different capacity. Both seem to be at a crossroads that isn’t fully resolved by the end of the story, but it’s a series, so I have no doubt the journey will continue. The plot seems to hit the ground running this time around as well and keeps up a relatively steady pace until the end, keeping us turning the pages and on the edges of our seats. Fans of the series thus far won’t be disappointed and will be eager to read more.

Other related materials: Artemis Fowl (Artemis Fowl, Book 1) by Eoin Colfer; The Arctic Incident (Artemis Fowl, Book 2) by Eoin Colfer; The Eternity Code (Artemis Fowl, Book 3) by Eoin Colfer; The Lost Colony (Artemis Fowl, Book 5) by Eoin Colfer; The Time Paradox (Artemis Fowl, Book 6) by Eoin Colfer; The Atlantis Complex (Artemis Fowl, Book 7) by Eoin Colfer; The Last Guardian (Artemis Fowl, Book 8) by Eoin Colfer; Artemis Fowl: The Graphic Novel adapted by Eoin Colfer and Andrew Donkin, art by Giovanni Rigano, colors by Paolo Lamanna; Artemis Fowl: The Seventh Dwarf by Eoin Colfer; W.A.R.P.  books by Eoin Colfer; The Supernaturalist by Eoin Colfer; The Bartimaeus Trilogy by Jonathan Stroud; H.I.V.E. series by Mark Walden; Inkheart by Cornelia Funke; Inkspell by Cornelia Funke; Inkdeath by Cornelia Funke


Leave a comment

Filed under reviews

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s